clint

Art Agents?

Anybody use one? I met one in Denver yesterday and I'm not sure what to think of the whole thing yet.
thanks.

jhatch

Re: Art Agents?

You mean like a Rep? I am not sure why you would hand your career off to some salesman. No one knows your art, schedule, pricing and capabilities better than you!

This is what I wrote in an earlier post on the Rep Thing. "Early in my career I contacted some of the larger Rep agencies back when they were still relevant and they were nasty as hell to me. Telling me no one wanted my kind of work and meanwhile they had 3 pages of women who glued cut paper into pictures of chickens and crap! I didn't get it, as I was doing some pretty high profile work at the time. I think the Rep era is over and they are trolls and thieves, RIP"

Paul B

Hi,

I'm UK based and new on the forum. I'm looking forward to contributing to the forum in the future.

I've been freelancing for four years now and love it. The first year, well very very little amount of work but you just have to keep selling your self. The last few years have been much better and I have a few regular clients. The only issue is a tend to get a few days to do my work, its always last minute. Mostly CAD based, so I build my models in Solidedge and the either photoshop the lines or render in 3ds Max or Modo. I'm sure everyone has do deal with software service contracts that eat up you income, Solidedge is a killer.

I have been signed up to an agency for about six months in the past, they loved my work but after that six months, they had not sold or managed to obtain commissions for me. So we have parted company. However in that same time I had regular work gained by self promotion. I can see where an agency can sound good though as having someone get the work for you and sometimes more importantly, chase the invoice payments. This part alone some times makes we think about a full time position.

That said, love my job.

Cheers

Paul

JamesProvost

My thoughts: