Don Cheke

Most Complex Illustration

I am curious to know what other have done that they consider their most complex illustration and how you went about creating it. Did you have an existing model to measure, blueprints to go by or something else. Any other factors you might like to mention. Post an image if you can.

theglenster

Re: Most Complex Illustration

hi Don,

ok ill bite..

http://img.i7m.de/show/7c6ud.jpg

http://img.i7m.de/show/driza.jpg

http://img.i7m.de/show/viz93.jpg

http://img.i7m.de/show/bvrlh.jpg

ive been working on constructing this 300sl for a few years now whenever i get the time.
when the construction is ready, the plan is to make a ghost/cutaway illustration. i will probebly have to make a couple to be able to see all the detail.

i have only used photos that ive found online as reference. ive just checked the reference folder on my computer and its 2gb in size and contains 901 photos!

i still have a few things left to model here and there, when im sure that everything is sitting as it should then the last thing to do is to make sure all the tubeing/wireing is sitting correctly. oh and of course the textureing.

Mike A

That's fantastic Glen. Have you any clue as to how many hours you've spent on that? Modelled in C4D?

theglenster

Mike A wrote:That's fantastic Glen. Have you any clue as to how many hours you've spent on that? Modelled in C4D?
literaly hundreds and hundreds of hours spread over about 5 years. and all modelled in C4D.

i decided from the start to not worry about how long it takes but to focus on getting it as acurate as possible.

Don Cheke

That is simply stunning Glen, so impressive and an obvious labor of love. I admire your patience. Although I am always willing and able to put in the time required for lengthy projects, I much prefer ones that give me a quick creative fix - but it is the ones like yours that are truly master pieces.